Skiing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Saturday I got to do one of my favorite things: tagging along on an excursion for the sole purpose of taking pictures. It was the annual ski trip for the Maxwell Street Presbyterian Yoots. To tell you how long it’s been since I have been on the slopes, I think most of the music playing on the classic rock station that was on in the Perfect North lodge – Red Rider, Loverboy, etc. – was current on my last ski trip.

It was great to see everything from the kids taking the quickie beginner lessons to the ones who slide down the slopes as easily as they walk. My only complaint would be needing to shoot with a raincoat on my camera most of the day. But I have to say, I bought a two pack of Opteka camera covers at Murphy’s before last year’s Derby, and they have come in handy several times since. The biggest challenge was picking out members of our group coming down the mountain. If I do this again, I’m thinking everyone needs to come up with a distinctive, bright item of clothing – like that’s going to happen.

Having been away from skiing for years (decades) this was my first time trying to grab some action shots. I did OK, but hope I don’t wait until, say, Linkin Park is classic rock before I get back.

Leave a Reply

