Week’s best, March 6-12

Proud Grandpa. Nikon D80, 70-200 mm Tamron Lens; 1600 ISO, 1/200 sec, f 2.8.

My favorite of the week happened very early in the week, read the first 11 hours of last week. To me, it epitomizes the most treasured kind of shot in in photography: I captured that moment.

Rob Schrader. Nikon D80, Tamrom 70-200 lens, one flash camera right fired into a beauty dish, one camera left into a 32-inch reflective umbrella; ISO 100, 1/200 sec, f 4.

Rob Schrader. Nikon D80, Tamrom 70-200 lens, one flash camera right fired into a beauty dish, one camera left into a 32-inch reflective umbrella; ISO 100, 1/200 sec, f 4.

In this case, it was a baptism at my church with the grandfather of the baby performing the baptism. I will just let grandpa’s facial expression speak.

My other favorite makes me laugh at myself. In a session with Rob Schrader – a young man you may someday hear mentioned with other great theatrical Robs, like De Niro and Redford – I initially said subjects for headshots like this generally look better standing, to get him on his feet. Ha! It was when we go him seated that the tension went away and he gave us this look.

Leave a Reply

