Week’s best: March 13-20

Katee Holznagel as Catherine and Randy Hall as Dr. Cukrowicz in "Suddenly, Last Summer" at Studio Players. Nikon D300s, Nikkor 80-200 f2.8 lens; ISO 1600, 1/250 sec, f2.8. © Photo for the Lexington Herald-Leader.

A year or so I go, I realized I was in the midst of a wide-angle hangup. My 17-35 mm lens lived on my camera and everything I was shooting was as wide as my stomach – trying to work on that; it is Lent. Wide angles certainly have their place, and I always search for the elements that make truly great wide angle shots. But it was clear to me I needed to get back in touch with telephoto, and the drama I loved about that.

Clif Cason conducts. Nikon D80, Tamron 70-200, f 2.8 lens; ISO 400, 1/200 sec, f4, two Nikon flashes bounced off ceiling.

This week told me I got there.

I actually used quite a bit of wide angle at the above shoot, a rehearsal of Suddenly, Last Summer at Studio Players, a venue I love to shoot in because they usually have first-rate community theater sets and costumes. I was doing quite a bit of wide shooting from the front row but had my 80-200 on the camera when this moment happened. Coquettish Catherine was in the midst of a negotiation of sorts with Dr. Cukrowicz, and to me this frame shows that he was tuned into her feminine wiles. Acting!

The shot to the left is choir director Clif Cason in a different way than most of us who know him see him at work, which is with his back to us – that’s how we see a lot of conductors. I not only liked the telephoto giving a hard close up of him, I liked the way the blue – that’s just a bulletin board behind him – served as an unintended backdrop. Most of all, I like seeing the passion for the music in this moment.

Leave a Reply

