Central Kentucky photographer: Wintertime is black and white time

~

Last year when I started this little enterprise, I sort of wrote off the season I was in.

It’s winter, I thought. It’s cold, it’s bleak, it’s colorless. Why would anyone want to get a photo taken at this time of year?

Well, a year has passed and my attitude has changed about shooting in wintertime as well as many, many other things.

~

About midway through last year, I noticed how much circumstances dictated how I created images, particularly in post processing. Why flip a photo adorned with a riot of fall leaves or beautiful, colorful bridesmaids into black and white? By a similar token, why put up with a bleak gray and beige landscape when you can make it pop … in beautiful black and white?

You really don’t have to look at this site too long to realize Rich loves him some black and white. It helps define forms, focuses on subjects and just has a cool, retro feel. Classic.

And winter is the perfect stage for black and white. The colors are already muted. We can highlight the texture of that beloved scarf or sweater. We can highlight some drama.

And what if it snows? What could be better?

So, while last year I was willing to write off winter, this year, I’d say, let’s book a black-and-white session.

~

~

~

Want to book Rich Copley Photo for a photo session this winter? Check out our rates and booking info, and Email me.

Leave a Reply

