Central Kentucky photographer: 366 days, 366 pictures

~

A month ago, today, I started a little project. It was inspired by some other photographers I followed on Facebook who had taken on the commitment to take and post a new picture everyday for 365 days. Through their posts, I saw progress. I saw, routine pictures progress into thoughtful photographs. I saw commitment to craft. I saw something I needed to do.

Dec. 16, 2011

Since I started seriously approaching photography again four years ago, I had basically been motivated by need, be it personal, for my day job at the Herald-Leader or clients at RCPe. A few times, I went out and shot for fun, because I wanted to or needed to work on something. But in these 365 projects, I saw committment: You will pick up a camera. Every day. Whether you have something to shoot or not. And you will share it with the planet, Janet, meaning it really needs to be worthy of sharing.

Uh, yeah.

Of course, Richie C picks a leap year to do this. But I did, so this is my 366 project.

I started the deal in Virginia Beach, because that’s where I seriously got interested in photography in 1988 when I got bit by the bug working at the Film Factory and my family bought me a Canon A-1. It started with a shot of ceramic choir boys crafted by my Great Aunt Mattie, because I started this at a personal moment. ‘Nuf said.

I know some 365/’66 projects have stringent rules, like, “shoot whatever you see at 11:42 a.m.” everyday. There are only so many shots that can be taken of my desk. Seriously. My rules are simple: Take a picture every day, be it for the day job, RCPe, a personal pic or because this is a 366 assignment, so you have to shoot something. Post the picture on your Facebook page.

So that’s what I am doing. We’ll see where it goes.

Jan. 9, 2012

Jan. 4, 2012

Jan. 6, 2012

Dec. 25, 2011

Want to book Rich Copley Photo for a photo session this winter? Check out our rates and booking info, and Email me.

Leave a Reply

